Class rock rules AXS TV’s ‘Saturday Stack: Hard N’ Heavy’ marathon feat. Def Leppard, AC/DC & more July 29

7268

Classic rock rules AXS TV’s “Saturday Stack: Hard N’ Heavy” roost as some of the genre’s biggest acts will be featured in an epic music marathon on July 29. Def Leppard, Guns N’ Roses, Fleetwood Mac, and AC/DC are just some of the iconic bands profiled in the day-long programming interview lineup, appearances and amazing performances. Rock fans aren’t going to want to miss a minute of coverage, which kicks off Saturday, July 29 at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT with an episode of “The Big Interview with Dan Rather” featuring Fleetwood Mac’s legendary guitarist Lindsey Buckingham.

Anyone who’s seen award-winning news anchor Dan Rather sit down with his subjects can appreciate his easygoing interview style that feels more like listening in on a candid conversation. Rather talks to Buckingham about his prolific music career, including collaborating with Stevie Nicks and his life-changing meeting with Mick Fleetwood.

“Rock Legends: Fleetwood Mac” follows at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT and delves even deeper into Fleetwood Mac’s rich musical legacy. The 2014 profile also features music videos of some of the British-American rock band’s biggest hits including “Landslide” and “Dreams.”

It seems hard to believe it’s been over 40 years since hard rock heavyweights AC/DC released “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap.” Fans can revel in the band’s rise to rock glory via interviews, performances and more in director Tom Odell’s 2013 rockumentary, “AC/DC: Dirty Deeds” which airs at 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT. At 3:40 p.m. ET, you can crank up some Foreigner favorites during the concert film “Foreigner: Live in New York City.” From soaring smash hits like “Jukebox Heroes” and “Cold as Ice” to the band’s indelible rock ballad “I Want to Know What Love Is,” you’ll love rocking out to this sizzling setlist!

Next up at 5:20 p.m. ET, L.A. native rock band Guns N’ Roses hit the stage in Las Vegas in the critically-acclaimed concert film “Guns N’ Roses – Appetite for Democracy – Live at the Hard Rock Casino.” If you’re craving some classic AXL Rose, Slash-infused GNR then sit back and enjoy hits like “Welcome to the Jungle,” “Paradise City” and more.

Michigan rock fans who were lucky enough to score a ticket to Def Leppard’s 2016 live show at DTE Music Energy Theatre in Clarkston will undoubtedly be stoked to relive the magic at the glorious main event via the concert film that recorded it all. “Def Leppard: And There Will Be a Next Time Live From Detroit" airs at 7:55 p.m. ET. The spectacular set list includes signature hits like “Pour Some Sugar on Me” and “Photograph” and more.

Fleetwood Mac is one of the biggest-selling rock bands of all time and many people argue the British-American rockers helped define the genre. At 9 p.m. ET, catch a front row seat to witness the group’s explosive energy during their critically-acclaimed 2003 show at the FleetCenter in “Fleetwood Mac: Live in Boston." The riveting film features massive hits like “Rihannon” and “Gypsy” among others.

Next, southern rock legends Lynyrd Skynyrd are honored in an all-star tribute with performances by Cheap Trick, Gregg Allman, Peter Frampton and Trace Adkins to name a few. “Lynyrd Skynrd: One More for the Fans” airs at 11:05 p.m. ET/8:05 p.m. PT. The spectacular night of song features some of the group’s most iconic southern hard-rock hits including “Free Bird” and “Sweet Home Alabama.”

The “Saturday Stack: Hard N’ Heavy” lineup closes at 3:05 a.m. ET/12:05 a.m. PT with Megadeth front man Dave Mustaine hosting the 2016 Classic Rock Awards. The awards gala dedicated to honoring the best in rock and metal features electrifying performances from rock icons like Jeff Beck, Jimmy Page, Richie Sambora, Joe Perry, Joe Walsh and more.

The “Saturday Stack: Hard N’ Heavy” schedule at a glance is listed below:

1 p.m. ET – “The Big Interview: Lindsey Buckingham”
2 p.m. ET – “Rock Legends: Fleetwood Mac”
2:30 p.m. ET – “AC/DC: Dirty Deeds”
3:40 p.m. ET – “Foreigner: Live in New York City”
5:20 p.m. ET – “Guns N’ Roses – Appetite for Democracy – Live at the Hard Rock Casino”
7:55 p.m. ET – “Def Leppard … And There Will Be a Next Time: Live From Detroit”
9 p.m. ET – “Fleetwood Mac: Live in Boston”
11:05 p.m. ET – “Lynyrd Skynyrd: One More for the Fans”
1 a.m. ET – “Fleetwood Mac: Live in Boston” (encore)
3:05 a.m. ET – The Classic Rock Awards 2016

Find AXS TV on your TV and stay tuned to AXS for programming updates.

  • Chase Hunt 3 weeks ago
  • Ryan Ward a day ago
  • Tom Santilli 2 days ago
  • Joe Gunther 2 weeks ago
  • Shawn S. Lealos March 25th, 2017

Related posts